AM Online

New C-class revealed

SIX months ahead of its UK launch, Mercedes-Benz unveils the new C-class.

The C-class comes in three model lines: SE, Elegance and Sport. All models feature a new ‘agility control’ suspension package and the pre-safe preventive occupant protection system. An intelligent light system with five different lighting functions is available as an option.

As usual, Mercedes has got a huge engine line-up, so take a deep breath, here we go...

The entry-level C180 KOMPRESSOR has had its power boosted from 143bhp to 156bhp. The C200 KOMPRESSOR develops 20bhp more than before, with an output of 184bhp.

The C-class’s diesel line-up has also been revised. The new C200 CDI has increased power from 122bhp to 136bhp. The C220 CDI develops a peak output of 170bhp versus the previous 150bhp.

The modern V6-engines in the C-class range remain unchanged, with a choice of three petrol units developing 204bhp, 231bhp and 272bhp.

The six-cylinder C320 CDI has a power output of 224bhp. All four-cylinder engines and the six-cylinder C230 are equipped with the six-speed manual gearbox. The C280, C350 and C320 CDI have 7G-TRONIC, a seven-speed automatic transmission, as standard equipment. This is also available for the six-cylinder C230 model as an option.

Adaptive braking is another new development for the C-class range and is based on the technology of the S-Class.

Safety equipment includes seven airbags as standard equipment: two adaptive airbags for the driver and front passenger, a kneebag for the driver, two sidebags in the front seat backrests and two large windowbags which extend from the A to the C-pillar during a side impact.

The driver, front passenger and the passengers on the outer rear seats also benefit from belt tensioners and belt force limiters as standard.

Prices will be announced nearer to the C-class’s June launch.

  • To view images click on next page.


  • If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

    Login to comment


    No comments have been made yet.