AM Online

Next-gen Ford Focus pricing announced

Ford’s next generation Focus will be priced from £15,995 when it goes on sale in March next year. Ford Focus 2011

Standard equipment on all models will include Ford's torque vectoring control technology which debuted on the new Ford C-Max.

This electronic system balances the distribution of engine torque between the driven front wheels to optimise grip and stability irrespective of driving conditions or road surface.

Also included on the new Focus models are digital radio (DAB), Bluetooth and USB connectivity, voice control of key features, Thatcham Category 1 alarm, Ford Easy Fuel (to prevent misfuelling), front, side and curtain airbags, ESP, ABS and Isofix child seat attachments.

Mark Simpson, Ford of Britain marketing director, said: "The Focus set the class benchmark for ride and handling at launch in 1998 and the new model will set another new standard in the segment – this time for next-generation features and smart technology.”

The lead-in model, the Ford Focus Edge, is priced from £15,995 for the 1.6-litre 103bhp petrol and £16,995 for the 1.6-litre 93bhp TDCi.

The Zetec model, forecast to be best seller, starts at £16,995 (1.6-litre 103bhp petrol) and adds 16in alloy wheels, Quickclear heated front windscreen and door mirrors, leather steering wheel, front fog lamps and sports-style seats.

The Titanium series, from £18,745 (1.6-litre 123bhp petrol), comes with keyless start, dual electronic automatic temperature control, hill start assist (HSA), rain-sensing front wipers, automatic headlamps, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, cruise control with speed limiter, Sony audio and Ford's tyre deflation detection system.

Topping the range is the Titanium X (from £21,245 for the 1.6-litre 148bhp EcoBoost petrol), which adds partial leather trim, heated front seats, 17in alloy wheels, Active Park Assist, Bi-Xenon headlamps, LED day running lights, headlamp jet wash, power driver's seat and power-fold mirrors.

Option packs will offer Low Speed Safety System, Lane Keeping Aid and Ford's Blind Spot Information System. Those choosing Sony DAB Navigation will also get a rear-view camera.

Customers can select from three petrol engines including the new 1.6-litre 148bhp Ford EcoBoost engine, which debuted in the Ford C-Max, and four diesel engines.

These are the upgraded 1.6 TDCi and 2.0 TDCi powertrains with six-speed manual transmission (and optional dual-clutch PowerShift automatic on the 2.0-litre).

The 1.6-litre EcoBoost and 1.6-litre TDCi come with auto start-stop as standard. All engines achieve sub 140g/km CO2 emissions, with the 1.6-litre TDCi (113bhp), achieving 109g/km – the only car in its segment with CO2 emissions under 110g/km across all series.

Ford has added two new colours for customers to choose from, candy red and candy yellow.

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.