AM Online

Top marks for Top Technicians

The Institute of the Motor Industry (IMI) has named 36 of the technicians which scored the highest marks on the first Top Technician 2007 question paper.

They are now undertaking ATA assessments at diagnostic or master level at various centres throughout the UK, courtesy of Crystal Communications.

Stuart Brooks, a spokesperson for the IMI, said: ”Top Technician showcases the best professionals in the business who have the chance to achieve the added recognition of ATA accreditation.

“It's a great opportunity for technicians to test their skills against the UK's elite and the competition highlights and celebrates the importance and application of technical competence in an increasingly challenging environment."

Those who achieve diagnostic level ATA will receive a second, comprehensive question paper and the 12 highest-scoring technicians will then be invited to battle it out at the live finals.

These will be held at the Automotive Trade Show from April 24-26 at the Birmingham NEC. Visitors to the stand will benefit from free training presentations on the latest vehicle technology held each morning of the show. The winner of Top Technician 2007 will be announced at an awards ceremony in June and will receive £2,000, sponsor gifts and publicity for his place of work.

Clive Atthowe at Clive Atthowe Tuning, Norwich
Mark Banks at Holmer Green Service Centre
Aidan Birley at R&EL Birley, Leics
Jason Boylin at Cotswold BMW, Herefordshire
Jerry Carroll at Carroll's Garage, Renfrewshire
Mark Carter at Tisbury Motors, Wiltshire
Mark Chandler at Sherlodge Garage, Kent
Sid Crickmore at Sidgate Motors, Norfolk
Brian Dewart at BD Autos, Ayrshire
Kim Doerr at KD Auto Services, Bedfordshire
Paul Emmott at Reedley Service Centre, Lancs
Andrew Gilbrook at Jemca, Kent
David Goodman at Essex Ford
Nigel Hall at Platinum Vauxhall Trowbridge
Philip Jones at Castle Garage (Ashby)
Alan Kerr at Kerrs Garage, Northern Ireland
Robert Lewis at Brooklyn Toyota, Hereford
Stephen Martin at Lind BMW, Norwich
Jason Mc Avoy at Denzil Evans, Dyfed
George Mc Donald at Woodlands Service Centre, Inverness-Shire
Ian Nicholas at Birtwisle Peugeot
Owain Parmy at AVW, Gwynedd
Simon Parry at Barkers, North Lincs
Ian Philips at Service Plus, Surrey
George Pinder at Tytherleigh Vehicle Electrics, Somerset
Ian Rowell at Cha Rowell & Sons, Middleton
Stephen Russell at Wayside VW, St Albans
Christopher Semper at Chris Semper Motor Services, Wrexham
Steve Smith at Charles Clark Toyota, Wolverhampton
Mark Stainton at John Morris Motors, North Lincs
Jamie Virdee at DBS Desira Hertford
David Wagstaff at D C Mardles Motor Engineering, Exeter
Elliot Waters at Dick Lovett Ferrari Masserati, Swindon
Terry Wilkes at JE Engineering, Coventry
Paul Williams at Enterprise Garage, West Sussex
Keith Windle at Skipton Ford & Mazda

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.