AM Online

British Independent Garage of the Year Awards 2022 winners announced

IGA BIG Awards

The Independent Garage Association (IGA) has named the winners of its annual British Independent Garage (BIG) of the Year Awards 2022.

The awards ceremony took place on Friday, August 19, at Farnborough International Exhibition and Conference Centre. More than 350 people attended the event, which was hosted by TV presenter Mark-Durden-Smith.

Stuart James, IGA chief executive, said: “It has been a great honour to hold these awards for the independent garage sector after a very challenging couple of years. Local garage businesses have been overlooked for far too long, so it was wonderful to see the sector together in one room to bring widespread recognition to the unsung heroes that keep the UK moving. 

“Congratulations to all our worthy winners, highly commended garages and finalists, who are all truly outstanding examples of Britain’s best independent garages. I would also like to thank our sponsors, judges and organisers who all made this event possible.”

Winners were announced over thirteen categories, showcasing how garages and individuals have excelled across all aspects of running an independent garage business. Here are the winners and highly commended for this year’s awards.

In May 2022 the AM Award for Independent Workshop of the Year was won by S&R Miller, a Wigan-based Volkswagen and Audi Group (VAG) independent specialist since the business was established by husband and wife duo Stuart and Rachel Miller in September 2015.

2022 BIG Awards winners

Customer Service Award:

Winner – Hillclimb Garage

Business Improvement Award:

Winner – Cleevely Motors Ltd

Highly Commended – Cedar Garage

Individual Contribution Award:

Winner – Hayley Pells

Highly Commended – Peter Whieldon

Training & Development Award:

Winner – Cedar Garage

Highly Commended – Collison Motoring Services

Communication Award:

Winner – ACC UK Ltd

Highly Commended – Avia Autos

Community Engagement Award:

Winner – Exminster Garage

Highly Commended – Lindleys Autocentres

Innovation Award:

Winner – Cleevely Motors Ltd

Highly Commended – Cayman Autos

Consumer Choice Award:

Winner – Cedar Garage

Highly Commended – Amors Auto Solutions

Outstanding Achievement Award:

Winner – Bee Cool ACS Ltd

Independent Garage of the Year – Small:

Winner – Hillclimb Garage

Highly Commended – Simply Serviced

Independent Garage of the Year – Large:

Winner – Shaikly Motor Company

Highly Commended – CCM, CR Allen & Sons

Independent Garage of the Year – Overall:

Winner – Cleevely Motors Ltd

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Winner – Phil Todd

Click here for aftersales best practice and procurement insight

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.