AM Online

AM Awards 2014: How they won – citations and pictures of all the winners from this year's ceremony

The annual AM Awards is a flagship event in UK motor retail’s calendar, an evening when the best performers, large and small, are celebrated and highlighted at a gala dinner at Birmingham’s ICC. 

Click on a link or image below to go to each winner's citation.

This year a high volume of entries for all categories was whittled down into a shortlist by the panel of AM Awards’ independent judges, chaired by Christopher Macgowan and including AM editor Jeremy Bennett, industry analyst Piers Trenear-Thomas, International Car Distribution Programme MD Steve Young, director of Loughborough University’s Centre for Automotive Management Prof Jim Saker, and Institute of the Motor Industry CEO Steve Nash. Google’s Hugh Dickerson assisted in judging the Best Website.

Independent audits of all retailer categories were conducted by BDO.

The event was guest hosted by BBC newscaster Sophie Raworth and comedian Marcus Brigstocke and the Park Lane Big Band provided the entertainment.

The event raised £10,430 for the motor industry’s own charity BEN – a record for the night.

Best Social Media Campaign: Mercedes-Benz Retail Group

Best Dealer Website: Tates Motor Group

Best Manufacturer Digital Initiative: Kia Motors UK customer reviews

Best Training Programme: Peter Vardy Academy

Excellence in Customer Service: Macrae & Dick

Most Improved Company of the Year: Livery Dole

Excellence in Aftersales: Rybrook Warwick

Sales Team of the Year: Peter Vardy (BMW Used Cars)

Business Manager of the Year: Laura Williams

Franchise of the Year: Audi UK

Used Car of the Year: Nissan Qashqai

New Car of the Year: Volkswagen Golf

Tyre Retailer of the Year: Listers Group

Best Used Car Performance: Arnold Clark Automobiles

Best Fleet Dealership: Holdcroft Group Fleet

Best Dealership: Barnetts Volkswagen

Best Retail Group (up to & including 10 sites): Peter Vardy

Best Retail Group (more than 10 sites): Swansway Group

Dealer Principal of the Year: Jacqui Kaye (Corkills Volkswagen)

Digital Initiative of the Year: Kia Motors UK – customer reviews (Reevoo)

Manufacturer of the Year: Land Rover UK

Retailer of the Year: Arnold Clark Automobiles

Business Leader of the Year: Eddie Hawthorne, Arnold Clark Automobiles

AM Hall of Fame inductee: Peter Jones




Click here for talent & people best practice and procurement insight

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.