AM Online

The AM Awards 2021 finalists revealed, part 1

The finalists in the AM Awards 2021 have been revealed.

After days of examining entry submissions and reports from AM Awards auditors BDO, followed by a day of robust debate and voting, under the scrutiny of independent chairman Christopher Macgowan OBE, the judging panel has selected each category's finalists.

In each category, a winner from among these finalists will be announced and presented with their trophy at the AM Awards dinner which is being held on September 8, 2021, at its usual venue, the cavernous International Convention Centre (ICC) in Birmingham, followed by ample opportunity to network with motor retail industry colleagues and peers.

"Congratulations to all those that have impressed the judges sufficiently to make it onto the shortlist," said AM editor Tim Rose. 

"There have been so many remarkable achievements in this industry, in the face of the adversity caused by coronavirus's arrival in 2020, and this year's judging has been challenging in many instances.

"I look forward to seeing you at the AM Awards dinner.

Part one of the 2021 AM Awards shortlist is as follows (part two will be published tomorrow):

Best New Product or Service Award Finalists

  • BMW Financial Services’ Velocity
  • Epyx’s 1Link Trade Buyer
  • GForces’ NetDirector Auto-e
  • Pinewood Technologies’ Zero Touch Service Journey
  • Santander Consumer Finance’s Your Red Car
  • AutoInnovation’s Tjekvik
  • Vehicle Vision’s Assist

Supplier of the Year Award Finalists

  • Alphera Financial Services
  • CitNOW
  • Cox Automotive
  • GForces
  • Heycar
  • Keyloop
  • Pinewood Technologies
  • Santander Consumer Finance

Electric Vehicle of the Year Award Finalists

(category sponsor: Diamondbrite)








  • Audi E-Tron
  • Ford Mustang Mach-E
  • Kia E-Niro
  • Nissan Leaf
  • Porsche Taycan
  • Tesla Model 3

New Car of the Year Award Finalists

(category sponsor: Fortegra)

  • Audi A3
  • Ford Puma
  • Kia Sorento
  • Land Rover Defender
  • Toyota Yaris
  • VW Golf

Sponsor video


Used Car of the Year Award Finalists

(category sponsor: Car Care Plan)

Car Care Plan logo









  • Ford Fiesta
  • Ford Kuga
  • Kia Sportage
  • Porsche Macan
  • Toyota Yaris
  • VW Golf

Manufacturer of the Year Award Finalists

(category sponsor: RAPID RTC)

  • Aston Martin
  • MG Motor
  • Kia
  • Porsche
  • Toyota
  • Volvo

Sponsor video


Best Finance or Leasing Brokerage Award Finalists

  • Carparison
  • CarMoney (Peter Vardy)
  • Stable Vehicle Contracts (Swansway Group)

Apprenticeship Programme of the Year Award Finalists

  • Arnold Clark Automobiles
  • Gemini Accident Repair Centres
  • Stoneacre Motor Group



The Community Hero Award Award Finalists

  • Hendy Group
  • John Clark Holdings
  • Kinghams of Croydon
  • Peter Vardy
  • Swansway Group
  • TrustFord

Best Marketing Strategy Award Finalists

(category sponsor: CarGurus)

CarGurus Pistonheads logos








  • Shelbourne Motors
  • TC Harrison
  • TG Holdcroft
  • TrustFord

Best Online Customer Experience Award Finalists

(category sponsor: TMO Secret Service)

  • Hutchings Motor Group
  • Perrys Motor Sales
  • Peter Vardy Group
  • Sandicliffe Motor Group
  • Vindis Group

Sponsor video


AM Awards judges

Stephen Briers, editor-in-chief of AM, Fleet News and Smart Transport

Julia Muir, founder, Automotive 30% Club and chief executive of Gaia Innovation

Steve Nash, chief executive, Institute of the Motor Industry

Sue Robinson, chief executive, National Franchised Dealers Association

Tim Rose, editor of AM

Professor Jim Saker, director of the Centre for Automotive Management, Loughborough University Business School

Tom Sharpe, news and features editor of AM

Steve Young, managing director, ICDP.


AM Awards 2021 - book your table

AM Awards 2020: Pictures from the night

Click a thumbnail to view all the images in the gallery.

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.