AM Online

The AM Awards 2016 shortlist

AM Awards 2016 Logo

With the judging complete, nearly 60 finalists are in the running for the highest accolades in automotive retail.

A panel of eight judges, including AM managing editor Tim Rose and chaired by Christopher Macgowan OBE, made their choices this month from the dealers seeking to be crowned the best in the industry.

Taking a deliberately diverse look at the industry, we are seeking to acknowledge great performance, innovation and a consistent approach that exploits opportunities and tackles problems across more than 20 categories. They range from the cutting-edge – in the four digital categories – to the traditional, among them aftersales, used sales and fleet.

As well as dealers, AM acknowledges the part played by manufacturers in the health of the retail sector in five awards voted for by dealers – new car, used car and franchise of the year as well as manufacturer of the year and digital initiative.

The competition is intense – it guarantees the February 11 ceremony will yet again be a night to remember.

Limited seats remain - to book your attendance at the awards, visit

The AM Awards 2016 shortlist

Digital Awards

Best Use of Social Media

Perrys Motor Sales

Peter Vardy


Specialist Cars Stoke

Award sponsored By: Marketing Delivery


Best Use of Television and/or Video

Perrys Motor Sales

Peter Vardy

Specialist Cars Stoke

Think Ford


Best Dealer Website

Arnold Clark Automobiles


Hendy Car Store

Perrys Motor Sales

Specialist Cars Stoke

Sytner Group


Best Manufacturer Digital Innovation

BMW Retail Online

Vauxhall OnStar


Excellence in Business Awards


Best Training and Development Programme

Arnold Clark Automobiles

Honda (UK)

Jardine Motors Group

John Clark Motor Group

Mercedes-Benz UK (Apprentice)


Award sponsored By: AutoProtect


Excellence in Customer Service


Devonshire Motors

Lookers Volkswagen Carlisle

Peter Vardy Motherwell Vauxhall

Specialist Cars Stoke

Vic Young

Award sponsored By: EMaC


Excellence in Aftersales

Devonshire Motors

Mercedes-Benz & Smart Birmingham Central

Peter Vardy Motherwell Vauxhall

Sponsored By: FUCHS Lubricants


NEW Best Service Reception Team

Crewe Audi (Swansway Group)

Peter Vardy Porsche Aberdeen


Best Sales Team (New or Used)


Hendy Group

Mercedes-Benz & Smart Birmingham Central

Norton Way Corporate Sales

Peter Vardy CarStore Glasgow

Sponsored By: Barclays Partner Finance


Manufacturer Awards


Used Car of the Year

BMW 3 Series

Ford Fiesta

Kia Sportage

Sponsored By: Car Care Plan


New Car of the Year

Honda HR-V

Renault Kadjar

Vauxhall Astra

Volvo XC90

Sponsored By: Supagard


Franchise of the Year



Kia Motors


Sponsored By: carwow


Retailer Awards


Best Used Car Performance

Mercedes-Benz & Smart Birmingham Central

Perrys Vauxhall Doncaster

Peter Vardy

Sponsored By: Autoclenz


Best Fleet Operation

Minstergate Hyundai

Norton Way Corporate Sales

Swansway Group


Tunbridge Wells Hyundai


Most Improved Dealership

Perrys Vauxhall Doncaster

Sandicliffe of Stapleford

Sponsored By: Martec Europe


Best Dealership


Mercedes-Benz & Smart Birmingham Central

Norton Way Mazda

Peter Vardy BMW & Mini Edinburgh

Romford Mazda

Vic Young

Sponsored By: Rhino Events


Best Retail Group (up to & including 10 sites)

City West Country

Delgarth Motor Group

Essex Auto Group

Jacksons CI

Norton Way Motors

Sponsored By: Diamondbrite Automotive


Best Retail Group (more than 10 sites)

Arnold Clark Automobiles

Peter Vardy

Swansway Group




Headline Awards


Digital Initiative of the Year

Shortlist is made up of the winners from each digital category.

Sponsored By: Auto Trader


Dealer Principal/General Manager of the Year

Adam McCullagh, Mercedes-Benz & Smart Birmingham Central

Amarjit Shokar, Romford Mazda

Glen Kenington, TrustFord

John Vilums, Perrys Vauxhall Doncaster

Vic Young, Vic Young South Shields


Manufacturer of the Year






Sponsored By: Smart Insurance


Retailer of the Year

Shortlist is made up of the winners from each retail category.

Sponsored By: Black Horse


Business Leader of the Year

Chosen by the AM judges.

Sponsored By: Premia Solutions


AM Hall of Fame

Chosen by the AM judges.

Sponsored By: Shell



If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.