AM Online

IMI recognises apprentices at Outstanding Achiever Awards

Winners: star students and trainers rewarded at the Institute of the Motor Industry’s (IMI) annual Outstanding Achiever Awards

High-performing students and trainers within the automotive sector were recognised at the Institute of the Motor Industry’s (IMI) annual Outstanding Achiever Awards.

His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent joined the IMI to present the Awards during a ceremony at its Hertfordshire headquarters. 

Steve Nash, chief executive at the IMI, said: “The Outstanding Achievers Awards is an important date in the IMI’s calendar - it provides us with an opportunity to congratulate the people who work tirelessly to ensure the training is delivered to a world-class standard, and also the very talented learners who are just beginning their career in the industry.

“The IMI’s centre network, made up of over 600 training providers, has dedicated staff that deliver the highest level of automotive training – the IMI’s awards are a great opportunity for us to recognise these people and their best students."

Full list of winners and finalists:

Approved Centre of the Year: North Humberside Motor Trades

Specialist Centre of the Year: Nationwide Technical Training and Professional Development Academy

Outstanding Student in Light Vehicle: Lee Collins (Volvo)

                   -  Finalist: John Honey (Motorvation Training)

Outstanding Student in Heavy vehicle: Daniel Rayfield (Skillnet)

                   -   Finalist: Luke Thoel – (Skillnet)

Outstanding Student in Paint: Joseph Brown (College Doncaster)

Outstanding Student in Body: Dominic Leach (BMW/Babcock Training Academy UK) 

Outstanding Student in Land-Based: John Higgins (Bridgend College)

Outstanding Student in Bus and Coach: Josey Robinson (Skillnet)

Outstanding Student in Non-Technical: Ashleigh Bain (Remit Scotland)

Young Student of the Year: Courtney McElhinney (Torquay Academy)

Outstanding Achievement in Accreditation (Technical): Paul Tookey (Nationwide Just Car Clinic)

Outstanding Achievement in Accreditation (Management): Helen Price (Johnsons Cars)

IMI’s Special Recognition Award: John Honey (Motorvation Training)

FMI Bursary Winner – Joseph Brown (College Doncaster)

Brian Childs, chairman at the Fellowship of the Motor Industry, said: “The Institute of the Motor Industry, with its’ pivotal role in the motor industry’s training and awards arena, was the obvious partner to develop and action this special project.

“This year sees the third year of the Fellowship’s Bursary Award, with a handsome sum presented to support the further studies of an outstanding apprentice; someone who, it is felt, will be a beacon of achievement for fellow students and a future leader of our industry."

Click here for aftersales best practice and procurement insight

If you are not a registered user your comment will go to AM for approval before publishing. To avoid this requirement please register or login.

Login to comment


No comments have been made yet.